Beta Sigma Phi Sorority

Beta Sigma Phi, an international organization founded at Abilene, Kansas, in 1931 by Walter W. Ross, is dedicated to hundreds of thousands of young women throughout the world, who compose the membership of some four thousand active chapters. It has gained recognition around the world as a non-academic and non-sectarian, social, cultural and civic organization.

Marceline is proud to have had four active chapters; namely, Delta Nu, Nu Phi Mu, Junior Miss, and Exemplars.

Its history in Marceline dates back to 1948 when the first local chapter, Delta Nu, was formed as a friendly venture by Beta Sigma Phi Chapter of Brookfield, Missouri. It provided a fine cultural program, several annual social events, spring and fall formal installation ceremonies, style shows, March of Dimes drives, and other civic interests. An annual event of importance was the April 30th Founder’s Day celebration.

The charter members were Shirlea Fletcher Barnes, Harlene Moore Stanley, Mary Betty Moore Penniston, Norma Pearl Santus Hawkins, Rosalind Malone, Mary Jean Cochran, Shirlea Schloemer, Frances Zurcher Washam, Frances Munyon White, Hortense Darr, Lucille Sternitzky McGinnis, Camilla Cameron Snider, Wanda Wampler Wooten, Shirley Othic, Cathryn Owens, Deoma Mendenhall Schnoor, Jean Lee Sportsman Hoskins, Nerma Kienast Noll, and Jo Ann Miller Kelly.

Fleeta Rodgers was the first sponsor and served in that capacity through the thirteen years. Directors serving were Marcelle Green, Becky Walsworth, Dorothy Boudreaux, and Thelma Cruze.

Back to Top